• Breaking News

    Thursday, February 2, 2017

    Kuwaiti visa ban on 5 Muslim-majority countries, including Pakistan

    Kuwait has suspended the issuance of visas to Syrian, Iraq, Pakistan, Afghanistan and Iran nationals.

    After the government of President Donald Trump last Friday banned seven Muslim majority states, the Kuwait government has told migrants from the five forbidden nations not to apply for visas because they are concerned about the possible migration of Islamic terrorist radicals, Sputnik International said .

    Within the framework of the executive order signed by Trump, refugees from all over the world are denied entry to the United States for 120 days, while all immigration from so-called "countries with terrorism problems" is suspended for 90 days. The countries in the US ban include Iraq, Syria, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Somalia and Yemen.

    Video Embed by :Bhaskban

    Kuwait was the only nation that had forbidden the entry of Syrian citizens before Trupt's executive measures. The city of Kuwait has issued a visa for all Syrians in 2011.

    A group of militants bombed a Shiite mosque in 2015 and killed 27 Kuwait citizens. A survey conducted in 2016 by Expat Insider ranked Kuwait as one of the worst nations in the world for expatriates, mainly because of its strict cultural laws.

    As a member of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), Kuwait has been involved in growing tensions between the GCC and Iran. Washington has been a guarantor of GCC security since the early 1990s, according to a report from the Congressional Research Service.

    The observers have pointed out that most nations on Trumps list have significant Muslim populations and are experiencing a kind of economic or military conflict.

    • Blogger Comments
    • Facebook Comments


    Post a Comment

    Item Reviewed: Kuwaiti visa ban on 5 Muslim-majority countries, including Pakistan Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Bhaskar Banerjee
    Scroll to Top